2018 Award Winners

The College is proud to honor the following individuals for their service to the College and the specialty of allergy/ immunology. These awards will be presented during the ACAAI Annual Business Meeting at 5:15 pm, Sunday in Room 6ABC of the Washington State Convention Center.

Gold Headed Cane Award

Sami L. Bahna, MD, DrPH, FACAAI
Shreveport, Louisiana
Professor of pediatrics and medicine, chief of allergy and immunology section, director of allergy/immunology training program, Y.K. Reddy professor of allergy and immunology, Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center.

Distinguished Fellow Awards

Mark L. Corbett, MD, FACAAI
Louisville, Kentucky
Private practice, Advanced ENT and Allergy, Louisville, Kentucky; clinical professor of pediatrics, University of Louisville.

Dana V. Wallace, MD, FACAAI
Hollywood, Florida
Associate professor, Nova Southeastern Allopathic Medical School, Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

International Distinguished Fellow Award

Mübeccel Akdis, MD
Davos, Switzerland
Head of immunology, Swiss Institute of Allergy and Asthma Research.

Distinguished Service Awards

Alnoor A. Malick, MD, FACAAI
Pearland, Texas
Private practice, The Allergy Clinic, Houston, Texas.

John J. Oppenheimer, MD, FACAAI
Morristown, New Jersey
Clinical professor of medicine, University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey; private practice, Pulmonary and Allergy Associates, New Jersey.

Gina M. Seegers
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Director of meetings & conventions, ACAAI.

Tonya Winders, MBA
Vienna, Virginia
President & CEO, Allergy & Asthma Network; president, Global Allergy & Asthma Patient Platform.

Woman in Allergy Award

Myngoc T. Nguyen, MD, FACAAI
Oakland, California
Chief of allergy, Kaiser Oakland; chair of allergy chiefs, Kaiser Permanente, Northern California.

Young Faculty Support Awards

Sergio E. Chiarella, MD
Northwestern University Medical Center, Chicago, Illinois

Alexei Gonzalez-Estrada, MD
Mayo Clinic Florida, Jacksonville, Florida

Clemens von Pirquet Awards

First Place – Alliance Memorial Award

Stephanie L. Mawhirt, DO
NYU-Winthrop Hospital, Mineola, NY

Second Place

Deepti Deshpande, MD, MPH
Allergy Immunology at Columbia University, New York, NY

Third Place

Sun-Mi Choi, MD, PhD
UC San Diego School of Medicine, La Jolla, CA

Back to Top